Because of Her

Posted: March 20, 2014 in Uncategorized

Claire makes some poignant comments.

Bold Strokes Books Authors' Blog

Guest Blog by Claire C 

When I was coming out to myself, I devoured every young adult book I could locate in the public library with a queer teen in it. Once I finished those, I read any I could find online. They helped me through a really confusing time in my life and even though I’m past that (or at least I try to be), I still read them like crazy. It wasn’t until this past fall that I realized the importance of the books I’ve been reading.

Every time I question myself, I can draw confidence from these stories. It doesn’t matter that they’re fictional, they are just as meaningful to me as most non-fiction. I find bits and pieces of myself and my identity in every book. They are so valuable because when queer teens can’t find acceptance in the people around them, we can find it on…

View original post 419 more words

Leave a Reply

